Influence

Who influences my writing?
Three people have had a profound effect on my perspective, coming from a small place into the big ‘bad’ world.

One has left us, the revered late Epeli Hauofa, who dismantled all that we ‘perceive’ about our smallness and our insignificance, and he who reminds me that I and my ancestors come from this large expanse of oceania, which is my backyard, my home. I am not small. I am big. And powerful. And able.
Word!

Then 2 other people influenced me so:

Professor Leasiolagi Malama whose book on Lalaga was our bible in high school. Learning about history from a local perspective was eye-opening.
Then there was Professor Albert Wendt who I had the pleasure of asking some questions last year here.

So,…..can you believe my luck when I went to listen to Malama’s presentation at Auckland Uni – and both are in the same room!
Amen!

Leave a Reply

